With Discord moving away from its player-centric approach and positioning itself as a service for everyone, the platform has grown at an incredible rate. Whether it’s hosting Spotify listening parties, streaming Netflix on Discord, or anything else, Discord has something for everyone. However, a sad fact about Discord is that it does not delete your messages even if you decide to permanently delete your Discord account.. If you want to delete your messages, follow the steps below to delete all messages in Discord.

Delete all messages in Discord (2021)

The easiest way to delete all Discord messages is to use a script. However, if you’d rather delete manually, we’ve added the steps to manually delete Discord messages. If you are a server administrator, you can also use a Discord bot to delete messages. You can use the Table of Contents button below to navigate to the section that matches your need.

Delete all messages in Discord Channel or DM

Discord does not encourage the use of auto-bots to bulk delete messages. Here we will be using a script to get rid of old Discord messages. It is possible that your account will be banned if the script triggers Discord’s spamming system and therefore use it at your own risk. Ideally, you should only use it if you plan to delete your Discord account soon after. Having said that, here is how you can use the script to delete Discord messages.

Install the browser extension to manage user scripts

To get started, you must first download a browser extension to handle user scripts. I will use Tampermonkey (download for chrome | download for Firefox), but you can also consider Violentmonkey (download for chrome | download for Firefox).

Install the Undiscord script

1. First of all, you need to download and install the Undiscord script. You can either install it from OpenUserJS Where Fat fork. Here I will download the script from OpenUserJS. Open the link and click on ‘Install’ in the upper right corner.

install the undiscord script

2. When the Tampermonkey installation prompt opens in a new tab, click “Install”. If you are a programmer, you can review the source code of the script from this page before installing it. The scenario is also available on GitHub.

install undiscord tampermonkey

Steps to Use Undiscord Script to Delete All Discord Messages

To note: The steps given below are for deleting Discord messages in DM. However, you can also follow the same steps to delete bulk messages from channels.

1. Now that you’ve installed Tampermonkey and the user script, it’s time to bulk delete all of those unwanted messages. Open Discord on the web and you will now see a new recycle bin icon next to the usual help icon. Check the image below to locate the trash can icon.

delete messages discord icon

2. Click on the “get” buttons next to Authorization, Author, Guild / Channel to generate these fields. The authorization token generated here will give full access to your account, so make sure you don’t share it with anyone.

obtain the authorization and the identifier of the author

3. If you prefer to delete messages from a specific period, you can also do that. Click Range and set the start and end dates.

set range to remove discord messages

4. Click on the green ‘Start’ button to start bulk deleting messages on Discord.

start the discord

5. You will now receive a prompt in the browser to confirm deletion of messages. Click ‘OK’ to confirm.

approve deletion of discord messages

6. Now all you have to do is wait for the script to do its magic. It may take a while depending on the number of messages. After the process is completed, you will see 100% in the progress bar and you can check the status in the log.

Delete the Discord message log

And there you have it, you have successfully deleted Discord messages in bulk. If you have a lot of Discord message history, don’t delete them all at once. Instead, use the range tool to delete posts by month and do it at different intervals so that it doesn’t trigger Discord’s spam mechanism. If you plan to delete the account anyway, you have nothing to lose and can purge all your previous Discord messages.

Manually delete Discord messages in Discord Channel or DM

1. If you’re new to Discord and wondering how to delete a message, here’s how. Hover over a message and click on the three horizontal dots “More” button.

more than three menu points

2. In the list of options, choose ‘Delete message’.

remove discord from messages

3. When the confirmation pop-up window appears, click on ‘Remove’ again to delete a message in DM or channel.

confirm Delete Discord messages

Use bots to delete Discord messages in the server

If you are a server administrator, you can use bots to delete messages. Although there are dedicated robots like CommandCleanup to do this I will be using the popular MEE6 bot which also has a delete feature.

1. Add MEE6 robot on your Discord server. You can skip this step if your server already has the MEE6 bot. If you’re a Discord newbie, follow our guide to adding bots to your Discord server.

mee6 add to the discord

2. Use the command ‘! Clear to delete a number of messages from a Discord channel. Note that the maximum limit is 1000 messages and you can delete messages that are less than 2 weeks old.

delete the mee6 command

3. Shortly after sending the command message, the MEE6 bot will delete the messages and show you a prompt to indicate that it has deleted the message.

delete confirmation

Clone the Discord channel to purge messages

1. If you want to quickly erase messages from a specific channel and you are an administrator of the server, you can just clone the channel and delete the old one. To do this, right click on the existing channel and choose “Clone channel”.

clone channel discord

2. Now you can use the same name for the channel or change it slightly. After defining the name, click on “Create channel”.

create a cloning channel

3. Discord will clone the original channel with the same permissions and user limit. You can now delete the old channel by right clicking and choosing “Delete Channel”.

delete old channel

4. When the pop-up appears, choose “Delete Channel” again and you are ready to go! You now have a new, clean channel with the same participants.

delete old channel 2

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Does deleting the Discord account delete messages?

Sadly, deleting your Discord account will not delete your post. The service will change the username of the deleted account to something like “Deleted User # 0000”, but the messages will remain. You can follow the steps here to manually bulk delete Discord messages before deleting your Discord account.

2. Is it safe to use bots to delete Discord messages?

Discord does not recommend using self-bots to delete posts. However, you can use bots like MEE6 to suppress messages that follow company API guidelines.

3. Does deleting a message on Discord delete it for everyone?

Yes, deleting a message deletes it for the sender and recipient. However, you can only delete your messages, and you cannot delete messages that the other person has sent to you.

4. Does blocking someone on Discord delete messages?

No, blocking someone on Discord won’t delete the messages. Although the blocked person will no longer be able to send you messages, they can still access the old chat history.

5. Can you permanently delete Discord chat history?

Yes, you can permanently delete Discord chat history using the Undiscord script. Follow the steps in this step-by-step guide to delete old Discord messages.

Permanently delete Discord messages in a few simple steps

So that brings us to the end of the guide to Bulk Delete Discord Messages. As mentioned above, use the Undiscord script in moderation to protect your Discord account. Hope these methods have been helpful to you in cleaning up your Discord message history. If you have any issues or know of other methods not mentioned here, let us know in the comments.

Previous

How risky is it Wednesday?

Next

CBSE Class 10 Term 1 Board Review: Study Tips by Topic

Check Also