INDIANAPOLIS — Scott Dixon now holds the record for most laps led in the Indianapolis 500. Heading into the 2022 race, Dixon needed to lead 75 laps in order to break Al Unser Sr.’s record of 644. Dixon has broke the record at lap 133.

Unser Sr. is a four-time 500 winner, with wins spanning from 1970 to 1987. Dixon passed Ralph DePalma for the second most laps led at lap 98. DePalma led 612 laps.

Live Indy 500 Standings: Scott Dixon leads and sets race record

Dixon started on pole for the second year in a row and the fifth time in his career. Driver Chip Ganassi traded the lead with teammate Alex Palou to save fuel. However, Palou fell behind after entering the pits just as a yellow flag came out. Palou had to enter the pit lane as he was running out of fuel.

A similar situation occurred at Dixon last year after the veteran ran out of fuel approaching the pit stop and finished 17th after taking the lead.

Insider:How Scott Dixon and Ganassi achieved the fastest pole laps in Indy 500 history

Who led the most laps at the Indy 500?

1.Scott Dixon 645

2. Al Unser 644

3. Ralph DePalma 612

4. Mario Andretti 556

5. AJ Foyt 555

6.Wilbur Shaw 508

7. Emerson Fittipaldi 505

8. Parnelli Jones 492

9. Bill Vukovich 485

10. Bobby Unser 440

Has Scott Dixon ever won the Indy 500?

Scott Dixon has an Indy 500 win in 2008 when he started and finished first.

Scott Dixon before the race:‘Horrible’ start to 2022, 18-race winless streak dampened Dixon’s expectations


Subject threatened by another for not having paid a prostitute; petulant about financial situation; arson suspect arrested - Your Local News


Mercedes-AMG One will finally debut in production on June 1

Check Also